Maccha House @ Orchard Central

Published August 10, 2013 by ireneyksoh

Quite some time ago, I come across Orchard Central’s Food Festival promotion with selected food vouchers from different tenants going at 25% discount. I happily bought myself a $20 Maccha House voucher for only $15 and was so looking forward to a sumptuous meal there with my sister. This proves to be the worst decision I’ve ever made.

IMG_7269

The Matcha Soft Serve Anmitsu (S$7.90) was a disappointment. The taste was quite okie to me, but the portion just seems a little pathetic as compare to the price that I paid. A similar item at Nana’s Green Tea cost about $2 less and the portion is much bigger. And if you would to compare this to the Green Tea Sundae at Kyoto Sabe Ajitei, I would not find it in any way appealing at all…

IMG_7272

The Teriyaki Chicken & Half-boiled Egg Rice Bowl (S$10.90) was in no way better.  I think this must had been the worst tasting donburi  I ever had. I simply cannot find any merit points for it. The portion is again pathetic to begin with. The so called half-boiled egg was almost fully cooked. The rice was cold, like it had been placed uncovered in an air-con room for many hours. The teriyaki chicken was also cold and there were bits of unsightly red spot on it, making it seems to be uncooked. Been to so many japanese restaurants but this is the first time I encountered such thing. I had the waitress to take a look at it but she insisted that its normal.

Speaking of, the service of the staffs there were also damn ‘good’. After taking down my order, the cashier had to shout it out across the kitchen and in a super unprofessional manner. Despite been given a tag that will sort of alert me when my rice bowl is ready, the device obviously failed. And I wasn’t even informed that the meal was ready and the kitchen staff simply left it at the counter after they had prepared it. The waitress was at the counter too but she simply choose to ignore it. It was only that I had finished my desserts and find it curious that my rice bowl is still pending, only to find my order being left at the counter. How worse can their service be I wondered?

One comment on “Maccha House @ Orchard Central

  • Leave a Reply

