Small Gift From M1

Published September 7, 2011 by ireneyksoh

Remember the mailer that I’ve received from M1 quite some time ago. It comes as a shock to me as it had been a very long time since M1 sent me any decent things. I was happily hoping for it to be a phone voucher for me to offset new phone purchase. But sadly, it wasn’t.


As stated in the mailer, M1 is giving me a free Huawei U2800 handphone and a 3G sim card for FREE and with no strings attached. Oh boy! Sure am I excited! Having been a loyal M1 user for almost 10 years, this is the first time that I ever received such ‘good’ deals from them. I can’t helped but had my doubts about it. Got daddy to go along with me to collect the phone, just in case there are any ‘hidden’ terms and condition.

My dad and I decided to collect it from the Bugis Junction branch as it is more convenient for us. Despite the fact that the outlet wasn’t crowded when we arrived, we had to wait for nearly 30 minutes before our number was finally being called.

It is after some hazards and stuffs before I finally get my hands on my free phone and 3G sim card. The new phone, as its name- Huawei indicates, is a china brand phone. Not that I’m against china phone. But for a big corporation like M1, to be giving away such phone to customers seems to be a little imappropriate. I was expecting something better from them. After almost 10 years with them, I wanted to be pampered! I wanted to feel special!  I wanted to be appreciated! But I can’t seems to feel any sincerity from them at all.

Then I saw something that makes me even more disappointed. The same phone that I was given, comes free with every S$56 M1 M card bundle purchased. Which mean any Tom, Dick or Harry can get to own the free phone too. So what’s with the : ” TO THANK YOU FOR THE CONTINUOUS SUPPORT ” as printed in the mailer?

I would more appreciate it if M1 would simply sent me vouchers as they used to. But sadly, they have disappoint me repeatedly. I think its time for me to move on. I’ve had enough already. Am considering switching to either Singtel or Starhub. Which is better? Can someone please recommend me?

2 comments on “Small Gift From M1

  • Leave a Reply

